December 13th, 2010

Inaugural All-Catholic Football Team

Chris Jung

Senior Writer

Inaugural All-Catholic Football Team
photo by Chris Jung

Area's top players represent two complete teams

The Sentry Insurance All-Catholic Teams represent the best of the best when it comes to student-athletes in the Louisville area. Players are selected based on nominaitons and feedback from local coaches and staff.

Despite a Louisville "loss" in the Best of the Bluegrass game on Sunday against the all-Kentucky All-Star team, Derby City was represented and highlighted with some excellent players and team storylines in 2010.

And between Holy Cross' run to perfection, to Gene Sartini's 40th season at Providence, and Trinity's 20th state championship in program history, this most recent high school football season was another great addition to the history books.

The players below performed at the highest level on the field in their respective positions and are members of the first-ever Louisville area All-Catholic Football Team.


  • QB: Travis Wright, Trinity
  • RB: Derek Bishop, Trinity
  • RB: Jesse Keen, Holy Cross
  • WR: James Quick, Trinity
  • WR: Hunter Kopp, Trinity
  • TE: Luke Brohm, St. Xavier
  • C: John Heile, Trinity
  • OL: Eric Graehler, Trinity
  • OL: C.J. Phillips, St. Xavier
  • OL: Joey Warburg, Trinity
  • OL: Jeremy Glass, Holy Cross
  • K: Joe Crenshaw, Trinity
  • KR: Dalyn Dawkins, Trinity


  • QB: Cameron Scott, Holy Cross
  • RB: La'mont McMurry, St. Xavier
  • RB: Garrit Leicht, DeSales
  • WR: Jeffrey Poole, DeSales
  • WR: Jordan Cooper, Bethlehem
  • TE: James Jarvis, DeSales
  • C: Thomas Crawley, Providence
  • OL: Wes Strange, Holy Cross
  • OL: Nick Tassin, DeSales
  • OL: Will Flynn, Trinity
  • OL: Matt Hoyland, Providence
  • K: Shane Miles, Holy Cross
  • KR: Greg Johnson, Holy Cross


  • DL: Adam Barry, Trinity
  • DL: Cornelius Jackson, St. Xavier
  • DL: Grayson Switzer, Trinity
  • DL: Robbie Valdez, Holy Cross
  • LB: Devontae Beach, St. Xavier
  • LB: Adam Reynolds, Trinity
  • LB: Demetrius Davis, DeSales
  • DB: Ryan White, Trinity
  • DB: Daylen Hall, St. Xavier
  • DB: Patrick Sermersheim, St. Xavier
  • DB: Nick Byrd, DeSales
  • P: Scott Raque, St. Xavier
  • PR: Ryan White, Trinity 


  • DL: Josh Koontz, Bethlehem
  • DL: T.J. Pollard, Holy Cross
  • DL: Anthony Brutscher, Trinity
  • DL: Henry Vincent, Holy Cross
  • LB: John Allen, St. Xavier
  • LB: Joe Peake, Bethlehem
  • LB: Daeshawn Bertram, Trinity
  • DB: Timmy Smith, Trinity
  • DB: Jarrett Clark, Holy Cross
  • DB: Jack Crowdis, DeSales
  • DB: Turney Sugg, Trinity
  • P: Clayton Meyer, Trinity
  • PR: Daylen Hall, St. Xavier

Recent Articles