November 9th, 2011

2nd Annual All-Catholic Volleyball Team

Chris Jung

Senior Writer

2nd Annual All-Catholic Volleyball Team
photo by Paul Najjar

Twenty-five exceptional players make up volleyball ACT

The All-Catholic Teams include and recognize student-athletes who played at the top level during the regular and postseasons within their sport. Players are selected based on nominaitons and feedback from local coaches and staff that covered volleyball during the 2011 season.

It's no longer a secret: Louisville, Kentucky is a hotbed for high school volleyball and one of the country's premier spots in terms of talent, competition and success, on both a local and national level.

With the solid foundation of Assumption, Sacred Heart and Mercy, along with the emergence of Holy Cross and Presentation as consistent forces, the area volleyball scene has exploded over the past several years and has produced some of the top players, top teams and top coaches the United States has to offer.

In fact, a Louisville Catholic school has won the state title every year dating back to 1997.

In 2011, the Assumption Rockets went 43-1, won a trio of preeminent national tournaments - Burris Invitational in Muncie, Durango Classic in Las Vegas and Asics Challenge in Chicago - and captured its second straight Kentucky state championship with a 2-0 win over Greenwood High School on Oct. 29.

To recognize those student-athletes who excelled in the sport during the past several months, has once again compiled the All-Catholic Volleyball Team which is made up (below) of two ten-person squads and a five-person Honorable Mention group.

Congratulations to the following young ladies (listed alphabetically):

First Team

  • Ashley Askin, Sacred Heart
  • Chelsea Bowles, Assumption
  • Jenna Conway, Holy Cross
  • Courtney Crable, Mercy
  • Katie George, Assumption (Miss KY Volleyball)
  • Lynsey Hazelwood, Holy Cross
  • Megan Lipski, Sacred Heart
  • Taylor Long, Assumption
  • Taylor Paulson, Assumption
  • Lauren Schneidtmiller, Mercy

Second Team

  • Meredith Ashy, Sacred Heart
  • Connor Borgmeier, Sacred Heart
  • Amanda Crask, Mercy
  • Amy Evans, Sacred Heart
  • Erin Evans, Presentation
  • Alexa Filley, Assumption
  • Hannah Moore, Assumption
  • Stacey Spalding, Holy Cross
  • Paige Stewart, Mercy
  • Dallas Zimmerman, Assumption

Honorable Mention

  • Emma Asher, Presentation
  • Lisa Azzara, Presentation
  • Katie Bradley, Sacred Heart
  • Monica Loftus, Holy Cross
  • Erin McGrath, Mercy

Recent Articles