March 30th, 2011

Inaugural All-Catholic Basketball Teams

Chris Jung

Senior Writer

Inaugural All-Catholic Basketball Teams
photo by Chris Jung

Area's top players represent eight total teams

The Sentry Insurance All-Catholic Teams represent the best of the best when it comes to student-athletes in the Louisville area. Players are selected based on nominaitons and feedback from local coaches and staff.

The 2010-11 high school basketball season was chalk full of magical moments and historic milestones where Catholic schools and teams were involved.

And between Mercy Academy's run to the regional championship game, DeSales' All "A" State Tournament runner-up finish, and Trinity's fifth place finish in the King of the Bluegrass Tournament, there was plenty to cheer about. 

On top of that, all five Louisville-area Catholic girls high schools made the regional tournament fields in the Sixth and Seventh Regions.

Individually, Derby City was treated to some outstanding performances during the year, including a five-senior starting lineup at Sacred Heart Academy that gave Valkyries Head Coach Donna Moir her 450th career victory, and a non-senior Holy Cross girls squad that fought eventual Sweet 16 semifinalist Butler tooth and nail in the regional semis at Bellarmine.

The players below performed at the highest level on the court in and are members of the inaugural Sentry Insurance Louisville area All-Catholic Basketball Team.

To view all the Sentry Insurance All-Catholic Teams, visit:


First Team

  • G Charles Foster, Trinity
  • G Michael Ising, St. Xavier
  • F Nathan Dieudonne, Trinity
  • F Brandon Brooks, DeSales
  • C T.J. Schuler, Holy Cross

Second Team

  • G Troy Saxton, Trinity
  • G Jake Sliter, DeSales
  • F Kendall Hammerstrom, Holy Cross
  • F Dan Ratterman, St. Xavier
  • C Chancellor Armstrong, Trinity

Third Team

  • G Nathan Lilly, St. Xavier
  • G A.J. Schmidt, Providence
  • G Tyran Morris, Holy Cross
  • F James Quick, Trinity
  • C Evan Bingham, DeSales

All-Freshman Team

  • G Robert Shaw, St. Xavier
  • G Dominique Mack, Holy Cross
  • G Norman Ellis, Holy Cross
  • G Trey Ivory, Trinity
  • F Craig Owens, Trinity


First Team

  • G Maddie Peabody, Sacred Heart
  • G Lauren Faris, Mercy
  • G Maggie Hartlage, Assumption
  • F Juliann Miller, Mercy
  • C Morgan Clemons, Sacred Heart

Second Team

  • G Bailey Reeder, Presentation
  • G Whitney Hartlage, Mercy
  • F Monica McGreal, Sacred Heart
  • F Morgan Foley, Assumption
  • C Julie Skaggs, Holy Cross

Third Team

  • G Kim Mingus, Holy Cross
  • G Dee Dee Sliter, Assumption
  • F Shelby Adams, Presentation
  • F Maya Hardin, Holy Cross
  • C Annamarie Campbell, Sacred Heart 

All-Freshman Team

  • G Raven Merriweather, Sacred Heart
  • G Josie Hockman, Holy Cross
  • F Annie Crotty, Assumption
  • F Taylor Weber, Holy Cross
  • C Hannah Stevens, Presentation

Recent Articles