June 14th, 2011

Inaugural All-Catholic Lacrosse Teams

Chris Jung

Senior Writer

Inaugural All-Catholic Lacrosse Teams
photo by Chris Jung

Catholic players, teams had much success in 2011

With Sacred Heart Academy capturing its first-ever lacrosse state championship on the girls side and St. Xavier and Trinity duking it out for the state title on the boys side, it's safe to say that 2011 was a significant year for Catholic schools and programs.

Lacrosse, which continues to grow in terms of participation and popularity, was taken to new heights on the local level this past season. The Trinity Shamrocks were even recognized for most of the season within the Under Armour Power Rankings within the Midwest Region. Despite its state championship runner-up finish, the Rocks won 15 straight games before losing its first of the season in the finals against rival St. X.

The players below performed at the highest level on the court in and are members of the inaugural Sentry Insurance Louisville area All-Catholic Lacrosse Team.

To view all the Sentry Insurance All-Catholic Teams, visit: http://www.catholicsportsnet.com/louisville/page/all-catholic-team


  • Bobby Schmitt, St. Xavier High School
  • Austin Fackler, Trinity High School
  • Eric Hoffman, St. Xavier High School
  • Brad Lott, Trinity High School
  • Reid Wesley, St. Xavier High School
  • Christian Poppe, Trinity High School
  • Seth Gray, St. Xavier High School
  • Eric Edelen, Trinity High School
  • Zayne Smith, St. Xavier High School
  • Matt Herner, Trinity High School
  • Hayden Holbrook, St. Xavier High School
  • Alex Karman, Trinity High School
  • Chance Smith, St. Xavier High School
  • Austin Zehnder, Trinity High School
  • Andrew Boeckman, St. Xavier High School


  • Hilary Kargl, Sacred Heart Academy (KY Miss Lacrosse)
  • Allison Eisner, Sacred Heart Academy
  • Faith Mackin, Mercy Academy
  • Amy Vanover, Assumption High School
  • Emily Madden, Mercy Academy
  • Hannah Brotzge, Sacred Heart Academy
  • Allison Schladand, Assumption High School
  • Olivia Solomon, Sacred Heart Academy
  • Sophie Ford, Sacred Heart Academy
  • Delaney Carter, Assumption High School
  • Anne Carole Preuss, Assumption High School
  • Eleanore Brown, Sacred Heart Academy
  • Susannah Cregor, Sacred Heart Academy
  • Lauren Trent, Assumption High School
  • Jorgie Dermody, Assumption High School

Recent Articles