July 5th, 2011

Inaugural All-Catholic Baseball/Softball Teams

Chris Jung

Senior Writer

Inaugural All-Catholic Baseball/Softball Teams
photo from Facebook.com

36 total athletes recognized for 2011 accomplishments

The baseball and softball diamonds were full of outstanding accomplishments from area Catholic schools this past season.

Between St. Xavier's final four berth in state competition and the Sixth Region Tournament noise made by DeSales and Holy Cross in baseball to the domination on the softball rubber by JJ Francis (Mercy), Morgan Foley (Assumption) and Maria Katzman (Sacred Heart), Louisville was treated to some well-played ball this year.

The players listed below performed at the highest level on the diamond and are members of the inaugural Sentry Insurance/LouisvilleCatholicSports.com All-Catholic Baseball and Softball Teams.

To view all the Sentry Insurance All-Catholic Teams, visit: http://www.catholicsportsnet.com/louisville/page/all-catholic-team


First Team 

  • Matt Spalding, St. Xavier High School 
  • Ian Tompkins, St. Xavier High School 
  • Tyler Barrick Holy Cross High School 
  • Sam White, DeSales High School 
  • Austin Warner, Trinity High School 
  • Hunter Tipton, DeSales High School 
  • Jacob Kaelin, Holy Cross High School 
  • Phillip Leopold, Trinity High School 
  • Michael Hellmueller, St. Xavier High School    

Second Team 

  • Rex Hagerman, Holy Cross High School 
  • Zach Clooney, St. Xavier High School 
  • Logan Lampton, Trinity High School 
  • Ryan Selent, DeSales High School 
  • Alex Mercer, St. Xavier High School 
  • Ben Southard, Trinity High School 
  • Shaun Johnston, St. Xavier High School 
  • Clay Hardesty, DeSales High School 
  • Connor Hill, Trinity High School    


First Team 

  • JJ Francis, Mercy Academy 
  • Morgan Foley, Assumption High School 
  • Maria Katzman, Sacred Heart Academy 
  • Kelsey Wood, Mercy Academy 
  • Olivia Russell, Sacred Heart Academy 
  • Maddie Ray, Holy Cross High School 
  • Shelby Janes, Assumption High School 
  • Alayna LaPaillie, Holy Cross High School 
  • Katie Kissel, Mercy Academy    

Second Team 

  • Shayla Carter, Assumption High School 
  • Brandi Ratterman, Mercy Academy 
  • Chelsey Frith, Holy Cross High School 
  • Amanda Schumacher, Mercy Academy 
  • Emily Carmack, Assumption High School 
  • Nikki Schuering, Sacred Heart Academy 
  • Jenna Bailey, Holy Cross High School 
  • Alyssa Tarquinio, Assumption High School 
  • Ellen Nusbaum, Sacred Heart Academy

Recent Articles