December 5th, 2012

2nd Annual All-Catholic Boys Cross Country Team

Staff Report

2nd Annual All-Catholic Boys Cross Country Team
Trinity ended the season as runners up/file photo by Conor Revell

Area’s boys cross country runners are recognized

The All-Catholic Teams include and recognize student-athletes who played at the top level during the regular and postseasons within their sport. Players are selected based on nominations and feedback from local coaches and the staff that covered the teams during the 2012 season.

Kentucky high school boys cross country, when you hear those words; you think of Chuck Medley’s St. Xavier Tigers and Chad Waggoner’s Trinity Shamrocks. The Tigers finessed their way to a second straight Class 3-A Title while Trinity finished as the runners up.


And, then there’s Jacob Thomson of Holy Cross. Thomson powered his way to an individual state title with a record breaking 15:20 time at the state meet. In addition, Thomson also won the Tiger Run and the oldest state meet in Kentucky, the Trinity Invitational.


Trinity head coach Chad Waggoner said it best when compiling his nominations for this year’s team, “Jacob Thomson, runner of the Year and maybe the best runner in KY history.”


Of course, you can’t forget about the Holy Cross team and the DeSales Colts. The Colts came in a respectable sixth place at the state meet while Holy Cross finished in seventh place.


First Team

  • Jacob Thomson – Holy Cross
  • Sam Lewis – St. Xavier
  • Connor Sheryak – St. Xavier
  • Max Mudd – St. Xavier
  • Keegan Raidt – Trinity

Second Team

  • Jonathan Mattingly – DeSales
  • Nick Reader – St. Xavier
  • Christopher Striege – St. Xavier
  • Derrick Stauble – Trinity
  • Evan Hancock – Trinity

Third Team

  • Nick Eckert – Trinity
  • Blake Merckley – Trinity
  • Matt Graven – DeSales
  • Chase McCauley – Holy Cross
  • Devyn Langley – Holy Cross



Recent Articles