May 10th, 2016

Trinity alum named GLVC freshman golfer of the year

John Spugnardi

Bellarmine University S.I.D.

Trinity alum named GLVC freshman golfer of the year
photo provided by the Bellarmine athletic department

INDIANAPOLIS – The Great Lakes Valley Conference announced the postseason awards for men's golf today, and Bellarmine's James Inman was recognized with one of the "major" honors, being named as Freshman of the Year.  He also was named as one of 10 players on the  All-GLVC Team--as was Bellarmine sophomore DJ Vogt. Bellarmine's Lucas Jones was named as a finalist for the James R. Spalding Sportsmanship Award.

Other top honors went to University of Indianapolis sophomore Graham McAree (Player of the Year) and University of Missouri-St. Louis head coach Troy Halterman (Coach of the Year).

Inman is the third Knight newcomer to garner GLVC Freshman of the Year accolades, joining Nick Gerch, who won the inaugural award in 1996, and the 2010 honoree Brian Ratterman. The product of Louisville, Kentucky, has 74.8 stroke average in 25 rounds heading int the  NCAA Divsion II National Championship Finals.  Among Inman's 2015-16 highlights are a runner-place finish (69-72-71—212) in stroke play at the GLVC Championship at 4-under par – just one of six sub-par scores, and a third place finish in the NCAA Midwest/Central Super Regional. All told this season, the freshman has notched five top 10 finishes, and his score has been a "counter" for all 25 rounds this season.

Six players earned All-GLVC honors based on their top five finish at the conference championsion--McAree, Inman, Vogt, James Henderson (UMSL), Julien de Poyen (UMSL), and Alex Thode (Lewis).  The remaining four All-GLVC honorees were determined by a vote of the league coaches.  Rounding out the 2016 All-GLVC Team were Markus Lindberg and Colby Yates from UMSL, UIS junior Talon Supak, and McKendree University sophomore Keenai Sampson.

The league also recognized 14 GLVC James R. Spalding Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These individuals must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The honorees are now eligible to become one of their school's two Spalding Sportsmanship Award winners, which will be announced in May.

A complete list of All-GLVC performers and major postseason award winners can be found below.


James Inman, Fr., BU

DJ Vogt, So., BU

Talon Supak, Jr., UIS

Graham McAree, So., UINDY

Alex Thode, Sr., LEWIS

Keenai Sampson, So., MCK

Julien de Poyen, Jr., UMSL

James Henderson, Fr., UMSL

Markus Lindberg, So., UMSL

Colby Yates, Sr., UMSL


2016 GLVC Player of the Year: Graham McAree, So., Indianapolis

2016 GLVC Freshman of the Year: James Inman, Fr., Bellarmine

2016 GLVC Coach of the Year: Troy Halterman, Missouri-St. Louis


Lucas Jones, BU

Zach Tate, DU

Kent Gregory, UIS

Andrew VanAelst, UINDY

Austin Buente, LEWIS

Brad Patz, MU

Evan Franklin, MCK

Julien de Poyen, UMSL

Lewis Blyth, QU

Alex Graf, RU

Blake Hoover, SJC

Trevor Grant, USI

Zach Haman, UWP

Collin Kasitz, WJC


Recent Articles