May 10th, 2018

Football alignments finalized for 2019-22

Block_screenshot 2018-10-06 at 2

Conor Revell

Managing Editor

Football alignments finalized for 2019-22
file photo by Mark Sims

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association announced the new districts for the 2019-22 seasons. None of these changes will start until the 2019 football season.

However, St. Xavier is now in Class 6-A, District 3 while Trinity is in District 6. You can see the districts for all of Class 6-A below.

DeSales is moving from Class 2-A to Class 3-A, District 4 along with archnemisis Christian Academy and will be paired with three out of Louisville teams.

Holy Cross is staying in Class A, but is returning to District 2 after being in District 3 the past four years and will be able to restart their longtime rivalry with Bardstown Bethlehem.

From the KHSAA: The Board of Control conducted its final meeting of the 2017-18 academic year on May 8-9 at the KHSAA offices, addressing several issues related to football along with the postseason for multiple sport-activities.

Following initial review in February, KHSAA staff presented the draft football alignment (2019-22) to the membership for comment. After a lengthy review of feedback and consideration of each change proposed by the membership, the Board approved a final four-year alignment to begin in 2019.

With recent change allowing football playing member schools to have two scrimmages regardless of playing season, staff recommended to eliminate the “week 0” terminology from the scheduling grid, as it no longer has an impact on a team’s regular season or scrimmage schedule. The mandatory scheduling grid is listed at:

The Board approved the removal of “week 0” from the scheduling grid lexicon, while also electing to keep week 11 (formerly week 10, the last playing week of the regular season) as a mandatory non-district week. In its final football-related action of the meeting, the Board approved the proposed cross bracketing format for Classes 2A through 6A for the 2019-2022 playoffs, available here:


  • District 1- Apollo, Daviess County, Henderson County, Marshall County, McCracken County
  • District 2- Barren County, Central Hardin, Meade County, North Hardin
  • District 3- Butler, DuPont Manual, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier
  • District 4- Bullitt East, Fern Creek, Male, Southern
  • District 5- Ballard, Eastern, Trinity
  • District 6- Campbell County, Dixie Heights, Ryle, Simon Kenton
  • District 7- Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Tates Creek
  • District 8- Bryan Station, George Rogers Clark, Madison Central, Oldham County
  • For playoff bracketing only, the 5th place team in District 1 would become the 5th place team in District 5.


  • District 1- Paducah Tilghman, Trigg County, Union County, Webster County
  • District 2- Adair County, Casey County, Glasgow, Hart County, Taylor County
  • District 3- Bardstown, Elizabethtown, LaRue County, Nelson County, Thomas Nelson
  • District 4- Christian Academy-Louisville, DeSales, Henry County, Mercer County, Western Hills
  • District 5- Bell County, Estill County, Garrard County, Jackson County, McCreary Central, Rockcastle County
  • District 6- Fleming County, Lewis County, Mason County, Pendleton County, Powell County
  • District 7- Ashland Blazer, East Carter, Greenup County, Russell
  • District 8- Belfry, Floyd Central, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Pike County Central


  • District 1- Caverna, Crittenden County, Fulton County, Russellville
  • District 2- Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Fort Knox, Holy Cross
  • District 3- Berea, Eminence, Frankfort, Kentucky Country Day
  • District 4- Bellevue, Dayton, Ludlow, Newport Central Catholic
  • District 5- Bishop Brossart, Bracken County, Nicholas County, Paris
  • District 6- Betsy Layne, Fairview, Paintsville, Raceland
  • District 7- Hazard, Jenkins, Phelps, Pikeville
  • District 8- Harlan, Lynn Camp, Pineville, Williamsburg
  • NON DISTRICT PLAY (NEW TEAM)– 2019 and 2020 – Sayre

Recent Articles